Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - Push The Sky Away - ElMuelle1931

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - Push The Sky Away

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Bad Seed Ltd. / US / 2013

Push the Sky Away was released on 18th February 2013 – it was the fifteenth studio album by Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds. The album was produced by Nick Launay and recorded at La Fabrique, a recording studio based in a 19th Century mansion in the South of France. The Bad Seeds at the time consisted of Nick Cave, Warren Ellis, Jim Sclavunos, Martyn Casey, Thomas Wydler and Conway Savage, with George Vjestica and Barry Adamson each playing on two tracks.

Push The Sky Away played loosely with traditional song structures and unidentified instruments, with an atmospheric, weightless sound that has inhabited subsequent records like Skeleton Tree and Ghosteen.

The album featured current live favourites ‘Jubilee Street’ and ‘Higgs Boson Blues’ interspersed with rich, lush yet sparse songs like opener and unsettling ballad ‘We No Who U R’, the album’s graceful title track, and ominous ‘Water’s Edge’ and its dark sonic undertow.

Acclaimed at the time as a band breaking new ground, it set the blueprint for a decade of creativity.